Disappointments

This past week, I have felt disappointed.

A lot of my disappointment comes from wanting to control and plan everything, and then getting upset when it doesn’t go like I planned.

Its not really a great and fun way to live. I got disappointed when work was uneventful. I got disappointed when I didn’t do well on a test in school. Disappointed when the meals that I cooked didn’t turn out as planned. Disappointed when relationships aren’t developing in the way that I would like. And then of course feeling disappointed in myself and how I am doing.

I was reading in the scriptures and came across a verse that I had never really noticed before. It says “But, behold, the righteous, the saints of the Holy One of Israel, they who have believed in the Holy One of Israel, they who have endured the crosses of the world, and despised the shame of it, they shall inherit the kingdom of God, which was prepared for them from the foundation of the world, and their joy shall be full forever” (2 Nephi 9:18).

I got thinking about the crosses of the world. What are some of the crosses of the world that I have to endure?

For me, disappointments are one of them. Disappointment is not something that is Godlike. Instead it was created by the world to give us an excuse to be upset about things. It is one of my worldly crosses that I must endure. So what can be done about it?

I found this quote on Twitter that reminded me of things that I am often disappointed by, but also who I can rely on to get through them. It was written by Jennifer Rothschild. It says:

“Sometimes our friends fail us. Our health fails. The economy fails, dreams fail to come true, and relationships we’ve counted on can even fail too. But God does not fail, cannot fail, and will never fail. You can trust him completely, no matter what you are going through.”

I read that quote and found myself checking things off because I had felt the disappointments that come from friends, health, economy, dreams, and relationships. I love though, that Jennifer reminds us who we can depend on. Who’s intention is never to hurt. His intention is to help us feel loved and valued.

So, when you are overwhelmed with the feelings of disappointments, get down on you knees and pray to the Lord. Express to him all of what you are feeling and why. Give those feeling to HIM to take care of them, then let it go and move on.

There is so much power in this. He will help take away the pain of our disappointments. God is so good and He gave us his Son for this reason. Let’s use the atonement to help us get rid of our negative feelings and accept positive ones, so we can find true JOY.

Disappointments 1

 

8 thoughts on “Disappointments

  1. So true that much of our disappointment comes from trying to keep a firm grip of control! I do find that when I open my hands, something transformational happens in my heart!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment